jQuery(document).ready(function($){$('#aside .widget-archive > ul').addClass('fancy');});

Your browser (Internet Explorer 7 or lower) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.


Navigate / search

“Susan is as charming as she is efficient and she has thought of everything so that the accommodation rivals our own back home.”

I‘m Susan, and I live in France with my two children, Kristen age 11 and Olivier age 5. I moved here in 2002 to take over a little gîte business, and have since then renovated, decorated, improved and am continually updating the cottages to ensure that they are a real ‘home from home’ – comfortable and with all the conveniences of modern life. We chose the area because Brittany and Normandy are good all year round destinations, with lots of places to visit. It also isn’t too far to travel, and not too hot, which makes it an ideal place for families with young children.

I’m bilingual (as are the children) and am always around to help out with booking activities, restaurants, as well as the occasional visits to the doctor, dentist, vet or hospital (in the 10 years I’ve been here I’ve had the occasion to do all those!)

I keep myself busy when not cleaning, making beds, washing, ironing, cutting grass, sorting out the pool etc., by teaching English to adults. It helps keep the brain active in the quiet winter months and it is nice to talk about subjects other than the weather, the vegetable garden (or more precisely, my inability to cultivate one) and the price per litre of milk.
But my passion is the gîte business. I’m not a ‘mein host’ type of owner who organises communal barbecue and pizza evenings every night. I’m discreet, but always available to help whenever needed, or just to have a chat.